AFS Tidewater

The Awards and Scholarship Committee is soliciting nominations for several deserving individuals to receive awards at the 35th Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) Tidewater Chapter being held this March in Solomons MD.  Specific awards to be given are:  Conservation, Excellence in Fisheries Education, and Meritorious Service.  In addition, the Committee is accepting applications for the Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship for a deserving student.       

The Conservation Award is given to an individual, resource management agency, business or nonprofit organization that the Tidewater Chapter deems has accomplished notable fisheries or habitat conservation activities.  The most recent (2020) award went to Bob Fisher at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science for his many years of applied research projects important to stakeholders involved in Virginia's estuarine fisheries.  

The 2020 Excellence in Fisheries Education Award is given to an individual who has achieved excellence in teaching and student advising in the field of fisheries science, or closely related curriculum, and who encourages student participation in AFS, Tidewater Chapter, and other fisheries-related meetings. Mary Fabrizio, a fisheries science Professor at the Virginia Institute of Marine Science, was the recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Fisheries Education Award.

The Meritorious Service Award is given to a member of the Chapter for their unswerving loyalty, dedication, and service in advancing the programs, objectives, and long-term goals of the Chapter.  Sara Mirabilio, Brad Stevens, and Bob Murphy were given this award in 2022.

Please help the Awards and Scholarship Committee by nominating deserving individuals for these professional (non student) awards.

The Eileen Setzler-Hamilton Memorial Scholarship also is awarded at the Chapter's annual meeting to an outstanding graduate student currently enrolled in a fisheries science or closely related curriculum who has displayed a commitment to excellence in research, teaching, professional undertakings, public education, and community service.  This award was created in 2003 to remember Dr. Eileen Setzler-Hamilton, a long-time member of AFS and fourth president (1989) of the Tidewater Chapter.  Recipients receive a certificate and a $800 scholarship.  The 2022 “Eileen Award” was presented to Maddie Johnson, a masters student working under the supervision of Dr. Jim Morley at East Carolina University.

DOWNLOAD the Eileen S-H Scholarship Application.

Send nominations, complete with brief description of why you think they deserve the award, by:

Friday, February 3rd, 2023 by 5PM EST:

Send to: Paul Rudershausen at